DeLaval

Coresystems Case Study

Download Case Study (400KB PDF)

Initial Situation

Happy Cows in a Harmonized IT Landscape

DeLaval has over 125 years of experience and innovation in the dairy industry. The company, with over 115 branches, is represented in the most far-flung corners of the world – good reason for supporting globally standardized business processes using an appropriate IT strategy.

To provide technical support for the internationally standardized business processes, DeLaval has opted for a two-tier ERP strategy, i.e. a combination of “the major” SAP ECC used in corporate headquarters and in larger branches, and SAP Business One for smaller sales companies to replace its own ERP systems which evolved historically.

Business processes and roles reorganized with IT

The key starting point for the project was the business model that applies to the whole company with around 4,500 employees. In selecting the new ERP system for relatively small branches, the overriding issue therefore was which system could meet the requirements resulting from the business model.

The ERP project kicked off at the start of 2011, with the Columbia branch used as the pilot project. Following its successful conclusion, Turkey, South Africa, Ukraine and India were also equipped with SAP Business One and the coresuite country package. Connection to SAP ECC is via the SAP B1i interface, with the SAP BW interface implemented via direct SQL access.

“Using SAP Business One is a transparent and intuitive process. In a complex SAP ECC environment we would have had to train our employees for several weeks – with Business One it only took a few days.”

Konstantin Reidel, IT Architect
DeLaval Services GmbH

Conclusion

Integrating the branches, and the harmonization that goes with that process, has rounded out the existing ERP landscape perfectly. This has enabled DeLaval to create a sustainable IT structure, as the integrated unity of business processes and technology allows for growth and rapid implementation of innovative improvements. For example, in 2012 the company introduced electronic ordering, enabling the branches to trigger orders in the parent company directly via SAP Business One. This saves around 30 minutes per order – extrapolated to a week this adds up to a fair amount of man hours.

About DeLaval

DeLaval has over 125 years of innovation and experience in the dairy industry and helps farmers manage their businesses in the
way they want. We offer products, systems and services at all stages of milk production. Every day our solutions and systems are used by millions of milk producers all over the world. DeLaval now has 4,500 employees and is represented internationally in over 100 markets. DeLaval is part of the Tetra Laval Group.

For more information visit
www.delaval.com and
www.tetralaval.com

Let’s start
a new project together.

CONTACT
2018-08-29T13:43:18+00:00

DeLaval

Coresystems Case Study

PDF Download

Ausgangssituation

Glückliche Kühe in harmonisierter IT-Landschaft

DeLaval verfügt über mehr als 125 Jahre Innovation und Erfahrung in der Milchwirtschaft. Mit einer Marktpräsenz in über 115 Ländern ist das Unternehmen bis in die entlegensten Winkel der Erde vertreten. Gute Gründe, das weltweit einheitliche Geschäftsmodell mit einer entsprechenden IT-Strategie zu unterstützen.

Zur technischen Unterstützung der weltweit einheitlichen Unternehmensprozesse hat sich DeLaval für eine Two-Tier ERP-Strategie entschieden, also einer Kombination aus „dem großen“ SAP ECC, das in der Unternehmenszentrale und in größeren Niederlassungen eingesetzt wird, und SAP Business One für die kleineren Verkaufsgesellschaften als Ablösung der eigenen ERP-Systeme.

Geschäftsprozesse und Rollen mit IT neu organisiert

Zentraler Ausgangspunkt für das Projekt war das Geschäftsmodell, das für das gesamte Unternehmen mit rund 4.500 Mitarbeitern gilt. Bei der Auswahl des neuen ERP-Systems für kleinere Niederlassungen war deshalb die vorherrschende Frage, welches System die aus dem Business Model resultierenden Vorgaben erfüllen konnte.

Nach erfolgreichem Abschluss des Pilotprojekts in Kolumbien wurden auch die Türkei, Südafrika, Ukraine und Indien mit SAP Business One sowie dem coresuite country package ausgestattet. Die Anbindung an SAP ECC erfolgt über die Schnittstelle SAP B1i, wobei die SAP BW-Schnittstelle über einen direkten SQL-Zugriff realisiert wurde.

«SAP Business One ist übersichtlich und intuitiv zu bedienen. In einer komplexen SAP ECC Umgebung hätten wir unsere Mitarbeiter mehrere Wochen schulen müssen, was bei SAP Business One mit coresuite nur wenige Tage gedauert hat.»

Konstantin Reidel, IT Architekt
DeLaval Services GmbH

Fazit

Die Integration der Niederlassungen und die damit einhergehende Harmonisierung hat die bestehende ERP-Landschaft vervollständigt. Dadurch hat DeLaval eine zukunftssichere IT-Basis geschaffen, denn die durchgängige Einheit aus Geschäftsprozessen und Technik erlaubt Wachstum sowie eine schnelle Umsetzung von innovativen Neuerungen. So konnte das Unternehmen im Jahr 2012 das elektronische Bestellwesen einführen, was den Niederlassungen ermöglicht, direkt über SAP Business One Bestellungen im Mutterkonzern auszulösen. Dies bedeutet pro Bestellung rund 30 Minuten Zeitersparnis – hochgerechnet auf eine Woche summieren sich an dieser Stelle einige Arbeitsstunden.

Über DeLaval

DeLaval verfügt über mehr als 125 Jahre an Innovation und Erfahrung in der Milchwirtschaft und unterstützt Landwirte dabei, ihre Betriebe auf ihre Art zu managen. Wir bieten Produkte, Systeme und Dienstleistungen auf allen Stufen der Milchproduktion an. Täglich werden unsere Lösungen und Systeme weltweit von Millionen von Milchbauern genutzt. DeLaval beschäftigt heute 4.500 Mitarbeiter und ist auf über 100 Märkten weltweit vertreten. DeLaval ist Teil der Tetra Laval Gruppe. Weitere Informationen unter www.delaval.com und www.tetralaval.com.

Coresystems
Kontaktieren Sie uns.

KONTAKT
2018-09-10T18:36:14+00:00